::: I’m Still Princess Dominique | Tilted Tiara and All | Version 2009 :::

Drunken Negro Cookies?

Posted on: January 25, 2009

bakerycookie

I don’t know where I’ve been but I’m just hearing about this and wanted to share. I am at a loss for word and am 10 seconds from getting on New Jersey transit and make my way to this bakery. I’m so not a passive person. This here is exactly why people need salvation!

“At at a time when any decent baker should have been selling racially harmonious black and white cookies by the truckload, one Greenwich Village bakery popular with celebrities and shows like Sex and the City has outraged neighbors by selling a “Drunken Negro Face” cookie in, um, “honor” of President Obama. A shocked customer tells My Fox NY that Ted Kefalinos, proprietor of Lafayette French Pastry, asked her, “Would you like some drunken negro heads to go with your coffee? They’re in honor of our new president. He’s following in the same path of Abraham Lincoln; he will get his.” Later, her friend stopped by the bakery and said Kefalinos corrected her about the name of the cookies—they’re actually drunken “N-word” cookies. She says the backwards baker then repeated the dark suggestion that, like Lincoln, President Obama “will get what’s coming to him.”

Read the rest of the story and the updates at The Gothamist.com.

3 Responses to "Drunken Negro Cookies?"

This is very appalling. When I read the updates in the article it is apparent that he (the baker) sees it as no big deal. I am not sure what else can be done to educate so that others will understand that this ain’t funny!!!

I mean, what if other types of cookies were baked depicting negatives about other cultures? Or HIS culture? And when was the last time “Negro” meant something positive? It may be “black” in other languages, but used in an English context it brings back bitter feelings and rage.

Or was that the intent?

you have to see the video though… the ediorial version does it no justice… you have to hear the owner actually try to tip toe around his words not to say n*gger.

And have the nerve to change the name for 1 day on the Inauguration to Obama cookies.

Michelle, he’s getting a whole lot of people he says that still want the cookies. That’s hard for me to believe. Someone else said it’s a free country, but that still doesn’t excuse ignorance.

Eb I’d like to see the video. I couldn’t view it on the site.

Leave a Reply

I'm Linda "Princess Dominique" Grosvenor and I'm is a published author and have been writing online for over 15 years. I'm a former student of the Fashion Institute of Technology. I've been called a savvy cocktail of fashion and relationship advice and I've written for and contributed to articles for publications such as Honey, Modern Bride and MORE Magazine. This website will have more of a relationship slant and will be updated rather infrequently. With that said, enjoy!

Subscribe to a Little Ramble

Alert!

Note: If you right click, drag, lift, pinch, sticky-finger or save an image from this site hyperlink me and give me credit, please. Gracias!

Blog Stats

  • 3,468 hits
